Community awards

Learn about our amazing community awards available for individuals and organizations who advocate for food allergy awareness and education.

Applications for our 2024 community awards are now open. The deadline for submissions is April 1, 2024.

Please read more and apply below.

The Sabrina Shannon Memorial Award

Sabrina Shannon, young Ontario girl who passed away in 2003 due to an anaphylactic reaction
Sabrina Shannon

Eligibility: Students entering their first year or continuing their studies at a post-secondary institution.
Award: Two awards of $1,000 each
Selection: A committee of Food Allergy Canada staff and volunteers will review each application and select recipients based on their submission of a short essay.

The Sabrina Shannon Memorial Award is dedicated to the life of Sabrina Shannon, an inspiring teenager who died from anaphylaxis in 2003. In 2005, Sabrina’s Law was passed in Ontario, providing landmark legislation that has influenced policy across Canada and the United States. This award is made possible through an educational grant from TD Securities.

Meet our 2023 winners, Benjamin Cruickshank and Christian Kennedy, who are dedicated students with a strong lifelong commitment to raising allergy awareness and educating others.

We would love to hear how you and/or others are being #FoodAllergyChampions in the community. Share your story and we may send you a special gift in recognition of your efforts!